Today’s Run: Windburn and Frustration

It has been cold and snowy the past few days and when the snow took a break, the wind stepped in… full force—balls to the walls. I have been able to make the push to run outside for 3 of the past 8 days but it’s just so cold!!!

I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to weather. When it is 70 degrees and sunny it is not uncommon to find me in leggings, an under armor top, and a pullover. I get cold easily and I would rather sweat like crazy than be cold and warm up eventually.

I was running my normal route in Carlisle today and I am thankful that the sun was shining but, boy-oh-boy, the wind! It made me so frustrated that I got the urge to punch every single mailbox I passed (don’t worry, I have a smige-bit of self control and did not actually do it). After my run I was all smiles and happy I got out there (per usual) but today’s running experience made me think back to my semester in Copenhagen, Denmark fall of 2013.

A picture from one of my runs in Copenhagen.
A picture from one of my runs in Copenhagen.

November and December in Copenhagen averaged 40 degrees every day. The wind was always blowing and the sun was only up from 9am-4pm. BUT, not once did I see this throw off any Dane’s normal routine. Amazing!

I actually remember this one time when there was a huge snowstorm watch. We were all sent home early from classes so that we could be in a safe place. I remember walking out of my class and feeling like I had no control of my body and the wind chose which direction I walked to the bus stop. At one point it felt as though I was trying to run at a 45 degree angle just to attempt and move forward a few steps. When I finally made it on the bus, I was incredibly relieved.

It was a 30 minute bus ride back to my Kolligium and, the ENTIRE ride home I saw many, many, many Danes biking. WHAT?! I swear to you, the wind was so bad that I saw one Dane completey fall to the side and off her bike. Tree branches where flying off trees and the metros and trains shut down but THEY WERE STILL BIKING! They did not let the weather change anything about their normal routine and control their emotions.

So, I cannot say I have been too weather-proof the past few days but I am proud of myself for stepping off the treadmill and fighting the wind today!

Happy running.